Watch Work Items

Watches allow you to follow the status of an individual work item. You should use watches when you have a critical portfolio item, user story, defect, or task, and need immediate notification when its details are changed. When a work item is being watched, an email notification is generated for each edit made by other users.

You can only view watches that are associated to the workspace you are currently scoped to. Change your workspace scope as needed.

Watches work differently than standard email notifications. There are no rules to configure or set up. Watch notifications are sent by email, and are not currently included in the My Notifications app on a dashboard or custom page.

Enable watches

To use the watches feature, you must have email functionality enabled in both your subscription and profile settings. If you do not have email notifications enabled, you will receive a failure message when you try to watch an item:

Contact your subscription administrator to enable email notifications in your subscription. To enable notifications in your profile, edit your personal settings.

Email notifications setting

Note: Enabling email functionality will also allow emails to be sent from any active notification rules that you have set up. This includes the Notify me about changes to my <work item> (and items directly related to them) notification trigger for each work item type. If you receive unwanted emails that are not related to your watches, check your notification rules and triggers.

Create watches

The Watch button is found on the detail pages of user stories, defects, tasks, and portfolio items. You may also access the Watch command from pages and apps that support the gear menu.

From detail pages From gear menus

Bulk create or remove watches

You may create a watch on multiple items at once from summary pages and apps that support the gear menu. Select the items you want to watch with the check box to the left of each work item row, and select the Watch command from the Bulk Actions gear menu.

Use the same method to unwatch multiple items at once.

If any items in your selection are already being watched or unwatched, the success notification on the page will notify you of the results.

Manage watches

The Watches page found in CA Agile Central's profile mode lets you see all active watches created for your username. Each row has a gear menu, with an Unwatch command.

Add users to watches

You can add team members and other users that may be interested in a work item to an existing watch from your Watches page or a work item's detail page.

From the Watches page

  1. Click the highlighted number in the Watchers column to the right of a watch row.
  2. On the pop-over, click the drop-down or begin typing in the Add Watchers field to find the user you want added. Only users with view or greater access in your subscription display.
  3. Select the desired users in the list with your mouse or keyboard.

The user will appear in the list of Watchers.

When you add a user to a watch, they will receive an initial email notification. The watch will also be visible from that user's Watches page.

From a detail page

  1. Click the plus (+) sign or number to the right of the Watch button.
  2. A + indicates there are no current watchers. A number indicates the number of users watching the work item, including yourself.

  3. On the pop-over, click the drop-down or begin typing in the Add Watchers field to find the user you want added. Only users with view or greater access in your subscription display.
  4. Select the desired users in the list with your mouse or keyboard.

The user will appear in the list of Watchers.

Remove watches

If you would like to discontinue notifications for a work item, you can remove the watch. To remove a watch, access the Unwatch command from the Watches summary page and most gear menus. You may also click the Unwatch button when viewing a work item's detail page.

You may also click the link found inside a notification email:

Watch fields

Email notifications will be generated for any changes to a work item (including a deletion), but some field values may not be displayed in the message.

Changes to rank in a drag-and-drop workspace will not show previous or current rank values, since CA Agile Central uses an algorithm behind-the-scenes to calculate a rank value. These edits will display as rank changed in notification emails.

Rollup fields

Some work items contain fields that show aggregate or rolled up values of associated work items. Changes to a related work item may affect these fields, which would cause a notification to be issued for the watched parent item. Fields include:

User story and defect fields Portfolio item fields
  • Accepted Date
  • Blocked
  • Defect Status
  • Direct
  • Children Count
  • In Progress Date
  • Plan Estimate
  • Schedule State
  • Task Actual Total
  • Task Estimate Total
  • Task Remaining Total
  • Task Status
  • Test Case Status
  • Late Child Count*
  • Accepted Leaf Story Count
  • Accepted Leaf Story Plan Estimate Total
  • Actual End Date
  • Actual Start Date
  • Direct Children Count
  • Leaf Story Count
  • Leaf Story Plan Estimate Total
  • Percent Done By Story Count
  • Percent Done By Story Plan Estimate
  • Unestimated Leaf Story Count

* applies to lowest portfolio item type only

Feedback

Need more help? The CA Agile Central Community is your one-stop shop for self-service and support. To submit feedback or cases to CA Agile Central Support, find answers, and collaborate with others, please join us in the CA Agile Central Community.