Task Board

The Task Board app provides you with a way to view and update tasks during your daily standup meeting.

Task Board

Features

  • Add tasks to existing work items on the board
  • Use drag-and-drop controls to quickly change the state of a task
  • Add new work items (such as user stories) to the board
  • Easily accept a task from the front of the card
  • Easily block a task and include a reason from the front of the card
  • Customize the fields you see on task cards
  • Edit fields directly from the front of the task card
  • Change the color of the task card
  • Use the Task Board app on iteration filtered pages
  • Use advanced filtering capabilities
  • Use the Auto Height setting to automatically adjust the vertical space of the app based on the amount of visible data

Task Board settings

Note: Access the settings through the gear menu. Note that settings through this app are per project. Project administrators may only change app settings in projects they administer.

You can change the title of the app, select the project scope, and you can select the Hide Accepted Work checkbox.

Task Board settings

Global Settings

You can set the board to change its data with your global project picker, or you can choose a specific project or group of projects to work from. If you choose the Follow Global Project Setting, then the contents of the board will change according to your global project picker. Select Choose a Specific Project if you want to see another project's work, regardless of your global project setting.

If your board is installed on a shared custom page, check the Default Settings checkbox to use the settings selected in the lower section of the menu for all projects in the workspace. Changes you make to columns, fields displayed on cards, and other options will be used when viewing the board from any project.

Note:
  • If you have previously saved settings for the app while viewing it from a specific project, those settings will not be overwritten when checking the Default Settings checkbox. Any changes you save while this checkbox is empty will be project-specific.
  • When the app resides on a custom page shared with an entire workspace, only workspace administrators and subscription administrators may edit global settings.

Use the Task Board

The board can easily be updated during your daily meeting or standup. During your standup, the scrum master or any team member can update task status by dragging the task from state to state.

Update states

Each card resides in a column according to its current state. To update the state of a card, drag it into the appropriate column.

Task Board update states

View or edit details

Click an editable field on the card. For example, you can edit the name, the Estimate, To Do, and Owner fields on a task card. Changes are automatically saved when you click away from the card. To view or edit more details on the card, click the work item FormattedID or hover over a card, click the gear menu, and select edit.

Add new work items

Click the Add New button at the top of the app to add a task, defect, defect suite, test set, or user story. If you add a task, you must also specify the parent from the drop-down menu.

Task Board Add New

Filter cards

You have many options to filter cards on the board. You can filter by owner, or you can add advanced filtering criteria.

Filter by Owner Advanced filters
filter by owner advanced filters

Select fields to show on cards

Search or scroll to select fields to display on the board. Click Apply to save your changes.

show fields

Mark cards as blocked or ready-to-pull

If you cannot work on a card, or a task associated with a card, you can mark it as blocked to notify your team of a problem. Blocked cards display on the board with a red border. Hover over a card and click the stop sign icon to set the blocked status.

After the stop sign icon is clicked, the Blocked Reason field displays. Type the reason for the blocked status, then click outside of the card to save. You can edit the Blocked Reason by clicking the field on the card. When a blocked status is removed, the Blocked Reason field is cleared out.

When a card is ready to move to the next stage of development, you can mark it as ready-to-pull to update your product owner or other team members. The card displays on the board with a green border. Hover over a card and click the checkmark icon to set ready-to-pull status.

ready and blocked

Choose a color for cards

Use the color picker icon to change the top border of the card. This icon is located by hovering on the bottom of the card.

choose color

Copy or delete a card

You may copy or delete a work item by hovering over a card and clicking the gear icon.

Task Board actions

Action How To
Change task status Drag-and-drop a task card from one state column to another.
Expand or collapse rows Click the arrows on the right side of the story to expand or collapse the row.
Select cards to display on the board Select the Show on Cards icon. You can search for fields to add to the cards and select the checkbox next to the field to display it on the card.
View user stories and tasks from another iteration Click the Iteration drop-down menu and select an available iteration from the list.
Add new work items Click the Add New button at the top of the board.
Filter cards on the board Click the filter icon. You can select Filter, Operator and Values.
Filter by owner Click the Show work owned by drop-down menu and choose a team member name. User stories and tasks in the iteration owned by the team member display.
Show additional fields on cards Click the Show on cards icon, located next to the Filter options, and select or deselect checkboxes for fields you want to show on the cards on the board.
View or edit fields Click an editable field on the card. You can edit the name, the Estimate, To Do, and Owner fields. Changes are automatically saved when you click away from the card. You can also hover over a card, click the gear menu and select Edit.
Delete a card Hover over the card, then select the gear menu from the bar at the bottom of the card and select Delete. The task is recoverable from the Recycle Bin.
Hide accepted work Select the Hide accepted work checkbox in Settings.
Block and unblock tasks Hover over the card and select the blocked icon. To unblock, click the blocked icon again.
Mark as ready Hover over the card and select the checkmark icon. The card will display a green border along with a green checkmark when marked ready to pull.
View associated story details Hover over the user story ID to view the percent done, owner and state fields. Click the user story ID to open the editable detail page for that story.
Add a discussion Hover over the card, then click the + icon to add or respond to a discussion.
For Developers: 

Feedback

Need more help? The Rally Community is your one-stop shop for self-service and support. To submit feedback or cases to Rally Support, find answers, and collaborate with others, please join us at rallycommunity.rallydev.com.
© 2015 Rally Software Development Corp | Legal