Release Planning Board

The Release Planning Board app provides program managers with a view of portfolio items ready to be scheduled to a release. Use the board to prepare for and carry out mid-range planning. Release Planning facilitates release preparation and the planning process at the program level.

Release Planning

The Release Planning Board includes:

Set up

Release Planning is accessible from two locations:

  • Portfolio tab → Release Planning
  • In the App Catalog

To ensure you plan lowest level portfolio items from the correct backlog, set the project scoping in the app settings menu. The app defaults to the setting of your global project picker unless you specify a project.

Release Planning board settings

Schedule portfolio items

Note: The Release Capacity is read on page/app load, whereas the calculation of the Release column percentage bar is triggered when you drag a lowest-level PI in or out of a Release column. If the Release Capacity is updated, you will need to refresh the page to view updated values.

Backlog portfolio items display on the board as cards in the left-most column.

Drag a card into a column to schedule it in a release. The bar at the top of each Release column represents the Release Capacity. The Release Capacity algorithm is the total number of feature points divided by the release velocity.

schedule

Search for portfolio items to schedule

Use the search field at the top of the Backlog column to quickly find a feature to schedule. Enter your search criteria in the field and click the search icon or press Enter.

Release Planning Board Backlog search

Quickly view details

Hover over the ID field of a card to view its description.

Feature hover

Click the ID to navigate to the feature's detail page.

Rank cards

You can change the ranking of lowest level portfolio items in both the Backlog and the Release columns. Ranking cards can designate priority. Drag a card vertically in a column to change the rank.

rank

Add and update lowest level portfolio items

Add new lowest level portfolio items to your backlog, edit details, make copies, and delete from the app/board.

Add new lowest level portfolio items

Release Planning add new

To add a new feature to the board:

  1. Click the +Add New button.
  2. Do one of the following:
    • Enter a name in the field that displays, then click Add. You can add details later.
    • Click the Add with Details button.
  3. From the pop-up editor, complete additional fields.
  4. Click Save & Close.

Edit details

You can edit the Name, Plan Estimate, and Owner fields inline. Enter or select the new field value, then press Enter to save your changes. You can also click outside of the card area after editing to save. Press Esc to cancel any changes.

Inline edit

To view or edit other fields, click the gear icon in the header of a card and select Edit.

Copy or delete cards

Use the gear icon to copy or delete a feature.

The Copy option creates a copy of the feature and any associated tasks.

The Delete option immediately removes the feature from the board and moves it to the Recycle Bin.

Filter cards

The advanced filtering option allows you to filter, set any field as a quick filter, search, and set up custom filter conditions.

To use advanced filtering, click the Add Filter next to the the filtering tray. Default quick filters are owner, schedule state, and type. To add another quick filter click Add Filter. You can also filter on a blank fields allowing you to filter on items that have fields that have no value or are blank.

By default, multiple filters use an and or condition so all results displayed. Advanced filters help you look for powerful, complex conditions, such as open high-priority defects. You can add an advanced filter by clicking Advanced Filters. To hide your advanced filters click Hide Advanced. You can see how many filters are applied as the filter icon will list active filters numerically. You can clear your filters by clicking Clear All. Your filters will remain active when you navigate away from the page.

Learn more about advanced filtering here.

Save and share views

You can use saved views to save and come back to the views you use most often. To save a view click the Saved Views drop-down. From the drop-down you can save a new view or manage your saved views. By default, saved views are defect status,task status, and test status. You can then share it at the project or workspace level.

Available actions

Column actions

Action What it does
Drag-and-drop to schedule Hover over the card to see the cross-hair cursor that allows you to drag the card into any of the other columns on the board. The Release field is updated when a card is moved from one column to the next.
Drag-and-drop re-ranking Hover over the card to see the cross-hair cursor that allows you to re-rank cards within the same column or re-rank by drag-and-drop from one column to the next.
Search the Backlog column Search for a specific feature by the Name field. Enter criteria in the field at the top of the column and click the search icon, or press Enter.

Card actions

Action What it does
Quickly view a description Hovering over the FormattedID link on the card title (such as F7) will display the Description field in a pop-out.
View the detail page of a work item The FormattedID link on the card title (such as F7) is a URL that will take you to the detail page for the feature.
View or edit card details Displays the details of a feature. Hover over the card, then click the gear icon and select Edit.
Change the name of a card Click the name in the middle of the card to enter inline editing mode. Type in the new name, then click outside of the field.
Change the owner of a card Click the owner name in the header of the card to enter inline editing mode. Use the drop-down to select a new owner, then click outside of the card to save.
Add child Add a child to the feature directly from the card. Hover over the card, then click the gear icon and select Add child.
Copy a card Creates a copy of the feature and any associated work items. Hover over the card, then click the gear icon and select Copy.
Delete a card Removes the feature from the board and places it in the Recycle Bin. Hover over the card, then click the gear icon and select Delete.
Mark a card ready-to-pull Highlights the card with a green border, indicating the feature is ready to move to the next stage. Hover over a card, and then click the check mark icon at the bottom to mark it ready. Use this same method to remove a ready status.

Feedback

Need more help? The CA Agile Central Community is your one-stop shop for self-service and support. To submit feedback or cases to CA Agile Central Support, find answers, and collaborate with others, please join us in the CA Agile Central Community.