Manage Users and Groups

Print this topicEmail this topic

As system administrator on the Manage Sites page, click the Users tab. When you add users to a specific group, they have access to every site to which that group is assigned.

Groups

Group membership determines a user's access to a site. System administrators assign users to groups; groups are assigned to sites. The ALL group is a group that contains all registered users within all sites in a system. The ALL group cannot be modified or deleted.

When a system administrator creates a new site, a default group is automatically created for the site. The group name is based on the site name and cannot be changed.

On the Groups page, you can search for a specific group, or display all groups. Highlight a group to display all its members.

To add users to the group, enter the user's name in the Name field and click Add Member. If a user has received an administrator's invitation email from an individual site, she is automatically added to the default group created for the site.

To edit a group, click the edit icon. The default group that is created when you create a site cannot be edited or renamed. To remove group members, click the remove icon. You cannot remove users from the ALL group.

To add members to a group, enter a user's name in the Name field and select a user from the selected list.

If a site administrator blocks a user from one site, the user is blocked from all sites.

To assign groups to a site, see Manage Sites.

System administrators

Use the Administrators page to add and remove system administrators.

admin page

Import users

On the User Import page, you can bulk import up to 1000 users at a time. Once imported, users are in the system, but do not yet have site access until the system administrator assigns them to a group.

  1. From the User Import wizard, download the User Import template.
  2. Complete the following fields per user in the template:
    • Email (required)
    • Screen name (required)
    • First name
    • Last name
    • Job title
    • Expert skills
    • Work history
    • Phone number
    • Address
    • User ID
    • Profile photo URL
  3. Save the file in a .csv format, then click Upload File.

    Note: For Mac users, save as a Windows Comma Separated (.csv) file.

    The import will list any errors.

  4. Click Import Users.

Import groups

On the Group Import page, you can bulk import up to 1000 users at a time. Use this process to assign multiple users to groups. After a system administrator imports groups, all users included in the import have access to the groups specified in the template and are pre-registered for site access.

You can only import existing users to a group. To import users, use the user import wizard.

import users
  1. Download the Group Import template.
  2. Complete the following fields per user in the template:
    • Email
    • Group
  3. Save the file in a .csv format, then click Upload File.

    The import will list any errors.

  4. Click Import Groups.

Feedback

Please send us your feedback regarding our help site. For feedback regarding the Rally product, click here to open a support case or click here to submit a new feature request
English
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.
© 2014 Rally Software Development Corp | Legal