New Editable Detail Pages

CA Agile Central has released new editable detail pages (EDPs) that allow you to directly edit fields on user stories, portfolio items, defects, and tasks. If you can see a field and have the correct permissions, you can edit it. Fields are automatically saved when you leave a field.

The new EDPs are the default for user stories, tasks, defects and portfolio items. For a limited time, you can switch back to the old version of the editor.

If you're on an old version of the detail page, you can click the try button to go back to the new version of the page.

Features of EDPs includes:

  • Data is automatically saved when you tab to the next field or click Done.
  • One-click access to all work items related to the work item.
  • Click the gear menu to perform various actions on the page.
  • Easily add a parent, owner, feature, project, attachments, tags, or a discussion post.

View/Edit mode

Editable detail pages are available in two modes - editing and viewing. Some users don't want the ability to edit a page and instead want to view a work item without having the ability to edit it. You can switch between edit and view mode by clicking the icon next to the name of the work item.



Navigation

The ribbon displays any associated work items related to the work item. Click any icon in the ribbon to navigate to the work item.



The Actions gear menu is located on the right side of the Name field. Options will vary depending on the type of work item you're viewing, but include New, Copy, Print, Convert, and Delete.


Actions gear

Changes to all fields save when you navigate to the next field or click the Done button. A green Saved indicator displays in the upper-right corner confirming the field has been saved.


Save indicator

The Done button returns you to the context that brought you to the page. Use this button instead of the Back button in your browser to retain context. If the detail page was opened in a new tab or window, the Done button returns you to your default page in CA Agile Central.
Done button

Right navigational options

On the right side of the detail page, you can perform the following actions:

  • Select an owner for the work item by selecting the drop-down menu or by search
  • Add a parent or associated work item
  • Select the associated project from the drop-down menu
  • Add and create Tags
  • Add attachments
  • Post a discussion

Reparenting and milestones

When you reparent projects (or related projects) associated to a milestone, the milestone is un-parented from its project so that any work items related to the milestone do not lose their association.

For example, when you create a milestone in a parent project (which is the target project for the milestone), then re-parent a child project to a peer of the parent project, the target project for the milestone is changed to “All Projects in the Workspace.”

Progress and estimation fields

You can visually report the status of your story by Schedule State, Status, and Estimate fields.

  • The Schedule State (State when viewing tasks) is visually represented on the page as rectangles. Select the drop-down menu to update the state, or click on the desired rectangle that represents the state of your work on the item. The state of tasks can roll-up to affect the schedule state of user stories and defects.
  • schedule state


  • Mark a work item as blocked or ready with a single click under Status.

  • Mark as blocked or ready

    block


  • The owner drop-down menu contains the current owner and all of the people designated as team members on the current project. You can also search to find any user who has editor permissions on the project.
  • Detail page owner


    select owner

Other functionality

Use templates

Templates help you save time when you need to create multiple sets of similar content. For example, Acceptance Criteria wording can be added as a template on a user story's description field, so that you can quickly enter the criteria in your team's standard format.

Templates are available from rich-text fields on user stories, tasks, defects, portfolio items, and discussions.

Note: Templates are only available from editable detail pages.

To create a new template:

  1. In a rich-text field, design your template. Then click the Templates button.
  2. Enter a name for the template in the New from current field.
  3. Click Create.

To use an available template:

  1. Click the Templates button.
  2. Find the template in the list and click the Apply button to add it to the field.

To delete a template:

  1. Click the Templates button.
  2. Select the gear action menu next to the template, and click Delete.

To set a template as default:

  1. Click the Templates button.
  2. Select the checkbox, located to the right of the template name, to set a template as default.

If you select the Set as Default checkbox, the template you have selected will automatically populate in a rich-text field for that work item type and field. For example, if you created the template in the discussions rich-text field on a user story editable detail page, the template will automatically populate when you create a discussion post on another story’s editable detail page. The template you created will be available in the list for other rich-text fields, such as the Discussion field on a task, but it will not be the default for that work item type and field.

Add a predecessor or successor

Click the Dependencies icon. You can then select Predecessors or Successors at the top of the Dependencies page.


Dependencies

New Editable Detail Page FAQs

With the release of a new version of the detail page, some functionality has changed. The following frequently asked questions provide more detail on these changes.

How do I know when my data is saved?

  • Changes to all fields save when you navigate to the next field or click the Done button.
  • A green Saved indicator displays in the upper right corner confirming the field has been saved.

Save indicator

What is the purpose of the Done button?

  • The Done button returns you to the context that brought you to the page. Use this button instead of the Back button in your browser to retain context.
  • If the detail page was opened in a new tab or window, the Done button returns you to your default page in CA Agile Central.

Done button

Where is the Actions menu?

  • The Actions gear menu is located on the right side of the story name field. Options include New, Copy, Split, Print, Convert to Portfolio Item (for CA Agile Central Portfolio Manager users), and Delete.

Actions gear

How do I add a parent?

  • You can add a parent in the right navigational section of the detail page.

Add parent

How do I mark a story as blocked or ready?

  • Select the icons located above the Description field to block a story or mark it as ready.

Mark as blocked or ready

How do I add an owner to the page?

  • The owner drop-down menu contains the current owner and all of the people designated as team members on the current project. You can also search to find any user who has editor permissions on the project.

Detail page owner

select owner

How do I add a predecessor?

  • Click the Dependencies icon. You can then create or assign predecessors and successors within the Dependencies page.

Dependencies

Feedback

Need more help? The CA Agile Central Community is your one-stop shop for self-service and support. To submit feedback or cases to CA Agile Central Support, find answers, and collaborate with others, please join us in the CA Agile Central Community.